Skip to content

In progress

February 24, 2011

I’m still working with watercolor, learning about layers, shadows, tone and so forth.  This will end up a somewhat abstracted yellow flower, which is fine with me.  It’s quite a challenge not to layer on the paint as heavily as I usually do, and not be as spontaneous as usual, but it is a very good learning experience, as well as a lesson in patience.  So far I’ve used only primary yellow and cobalt blue.  I’m going to have to bring in some red for the center of the flower, and other shading.  The other thing that I’m (re)learning is that I can do a lot with the primary colors and perhaps don’t need 30 different colors in my paint box (though I do adore pthalo green!)  My teacher has forbidden the use of white or black paint, so that becomes a challenge as well.

I am having such a good time.

Namaste, Jackie

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2011 11:04 pm

    You are doing well. I like your large and bold yellow flower. Watercolor on, Jackie!

Leave a comment