Skip to content

Artist Trading Cards

January 30, 2010

In preparation for the upcoming show “Alchemy”  I was thinking about making some business cards.  I decided to be more creative than printing some out on the computer.  With leftover scraps of other collage work, I made a whole bunch of ATCs – artist trading cards. I thought it would be fun to give people who come to the show their very own little piece of art.  These could be framed if people wanted to, but on the back is my contact information.  The top photo is a panorama of about 60 of the cards and the other two are closeups.

When I’m painting and need to switch colors, I wipe the brush or palette knife on paper that I have sitting on the table, or if I’m using palette paper to mix colors, I save the dried paint to add to later paintings for texture.  Sometimes these  become abstract painting on their own, but more often are cut or torn up to use in collages.  In some of the examples above, I cut a small piece of the painted paper and mounted it on a solid color piece of card stock.  In others, I cut an ATC size piece from the paper and it became the base of the card.  Others are more of a collage using scraps of the painted paper, as well as other papers.  It actually was a great deal of fun to work on these while I was waiting for layers of paint to dry on paintings.

Today I’m finishing all the paintings for the show and putting wires on them.  On Monday I’ll hang the show.  I have room for about 16 paintings.  I’ll probably take more than 16 with me, so I can switch things out depending on how the whole show looks.  I’ll take photos of the show and post them next week.

Namaste,

Jackie

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2010 12:53 am

    Nice idea on the business cards, Jackie. Have a great show!

  2. January 31, 2010 7:39 am

    Thanks, Leslie. I’m excited about the show.

Leave a comment